Week 48. Endurance.

1bautzen_in_de_sneeuw_2 View at Bautzen with snow.

After the Sunday morning service in the church in Neschwitz, I drove to Bautzen for the regular activity: finishing this weekxe2x80x99s diary and entering my blog. From a particular point on the road, one has a very nice view at Bautzen. I planned to take a picture there already for a long time. Today was the day: with snow, with a grey sky and no traffic around me causing problems. I like the result, looking like a black and white shot.

2_neschwitz_besneeuwd_ritter_gut Ritter Gut in Neschwitz, in snow.

Back in Neschwitz, the idea for this week was to finish grinding dirt, rust and old paint layers. This is a tedious job requiring a lot of endurance. The construction is such that many areas are very difficult to treat with mechanical tools. One has to crawl over- and under the bits and pieces. The light in the shed is not very good when I keep the big doors closed. Most of the time I handle a grinder together with a torch to light up the surface requiring treatment. Anyway, I managed and all the single parts are now lying around, cleaned with the exception of specific areas which were inaccessible with tools. Those areas I have to grind by hand with sanding paper. Due to the near obsessive goal, I did not do much else and I did even forget to take pictures every now and then but from the single parts of the carriage.

3neschwitz_voor_as_009 Parts of my carriage. It gives you an idea.

Those pictures are extremely uninteresting for you: sorry. The sole diversion this week was bringing a number of parts to the local blacksmith. In the part of the undercarriage where the car is towed I did find a couple of defects caused by overloading. The blacksmith will repair those defects. I brought him three rims, one as an example and two other from which he will make me one rim for a spare tyre. The third subject is to produce the pole necessary to pull the car with two horses. After a week of steady work I went to Bautzen where I rented a room for the weekend, to do maintenance on myself.

4clln_trabi Indestructable Trabi. They produce a lot of noise and polution, but they keep you dry moving from one place to the other.

5neschwitz_4_kerstmarkt X-mas market in Neschwitz. Glxc3xbchwein, Bratwurst, Bier and few X-mas but for the music.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment